Inspired by Amanda Visell

I was greatly inspired by the artworks of Amanda Visell, it has the aesthetic lines art and geometry forms that I looking for. Many of the iconic figures or characters have been turn into her style of art figures. The shape of the anatomy proportion looks raw but it all has the aesthetic of a children line art drawing where carefully form the shapes, especially the Gonzo Wood Idol. The simplicity is form by mostly geometry shapes like squares on the body, legs, shoes, pockets. Everything was just so “boxy”. I really love the wood packaging with children-like oil pastel drawing. Same like the Mr.T wood idol’s wood packaging, it all has the retro feeling not just about the figures design also the colour scheme she used.gonzo5_grandeGonzo Wood Idol front and rear view

Mr T wood idolMr. T Wood Idol

I also found her works has amazing ideas to serve the education purpose, such as posters for boys. “I use my powers for good” It educates the children to do the right things for animals by mean no harm for them, “I am proud to be nerd” encourage children to read to gain more knowledge, “I am nice to nature” to explore the nature and take good care of our environment habitat, “I will make things better” to be a better person, stay positive and influence to people around you.

postersforboys_2_grandePoster for boys

About the posters for girls, it serves the same purpose of education, such as “I am my own captain” is to educate the children that they can have their own thinking and decision, to take the initiative to complete a task, “I can save myself” to be self-defensive for learning martial art, “I am wild” is to not be afraid of dirty as well as to be an explorer, “I am maverick” to remind children they can be brave and capable to take risk. Feel like the girls nowadays look more “manly” than boys if you compare boys and girls poster. “Ouch!!!”

poster for girlsPoster for girls

Others educational products are the Chop Chop print to bring the awareness of our environment. It shows the lumber is sad, probably in pain mainly because of people widely illegal logging, especially in my country of East Malaysia, Sabah and Sarawak that purportedly resulted in losses amounting to at least RM100 million a year. The report came from media statement by Chan Foong Hin in Tawau on 24 Oct 2014.

Chop Chop printChop Chop print

However, “The Basic of Beer” is interesting to show the general knowledge of a product making progress and steps, suit for children with high curiosity. The “Red Riding Hood” shows a storyline with an interesting layout framing sequence, server as a comic page as well as a well design poster.

Basics of Beer posterBasics of Beer poster

Little Red Riding Hood posterLittle Red Riding Hood poster

Web link – http://www.amandavisell.com/

Web link – http://www.myswitcheroo.com/

Web link – http://dapmalaysia.org/en/statements/2014/10/24/19331/

[accessed 3 Jan 2015]

Leave a comment