The Retro Toys

Although New Year sensation already pass, but the Christmas feeling still overwhelm to the atmosphere, still going on from TV commercial, press ads, radio music. Then Christmas toys come into my mind, found a site that full of classical collectable toys. Beside Star Wars toys, mostly others fill with vivid colours, red, yellow, blue, green, white. The proportions are usually not in correct scaling where the head often show bigger. I believe it is because of the facial can be recognized by the children. Furthermore it is much easy to paint on it. This so called “out of proportion” was making the silhouette into more interesting graphical shape, make me thinking about cartoons. There is a time in around 80’s, the cartoons are trying to show as complex as possible but now it has been simplified for most of the cartoons. Take the “Adventure Time” as a good example, I really like the well-designed retro colours bringing the character alive. It’s make me think about retro cars, the simple and slick bulgy shapes and the iconic colours. To be honest, I really like the colours combination and shapes design with patterns. Although I’m not the fan of this cartoon, but I guess I started to be one of the fans now.

 AdventureTimeDVDAdventure Time

vs

Retro Cars

retro car

Wed link – http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-29691754

Web link – http://wowcool.com/engine/meet-the-artists-of-adventure-time

[accessed 2 Jan 2015]

Leave a comment